SPECIAL: What I Missed in 2014

waveracer1.png

Yes… I know how late I am with these. More on that in the main post.

Before we get into the proper lists, it is important for me to look back and recognize the great releases of 2014 that I didn’t get a chance to fall in love with until 2015. Here are those great things:

1. 813, Wave Racer, and Trippy Turtle

In 2015, I finally learned the name of the genre of electronic music I was becoming obsessed with – future bass – and quickly discovered what everybody had been doing for the past couple years. The artists I couldn’t stop listening to were these three, along with ABSRDST, who I was a bit better on top of last year. 813’s XOXO EP and some singles and remixes from all three artists would likely have made 2014’s lists if I had heard them sooner.

813:


Wave Racer:


Trippy Turtle:

2. Rich Gang – Rich Gang: Tha Tour Vol. 2

I kind of disregarded this when I became aware it was a thing – I’m not ever sure how official this “official mixtape” is, but in the beginning of 2015 when I was anxiously awaiting Barter 6 I absorbed all the Young Thug / Rich Homie I could get my hands on, and discovered this record is full of hits. “Ain’t Trippin'” in particular was one of my most-played songs of the year.


3. Carpainter – “Saltflake Snow”

This song was my jam in 2015. Sort of an outlier – I haven’t loved too much of Carpainter’s other music, but this track gives me a lot of hope for the future. His track with Maxo, “Amazing!!!” is somewhere towards the bottom of my top songs for 2015.

This entry was posted in Columns and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

