NEWS: Feed the Dog Seeks New Writers!

Attention everyone! Feed the Dog is seeking new writers to help fill the long and awkward lulls between postings! I’m mainly looking for writers interested in writing quick posts for track and video reviews, or, alternatively, news postings. If you’re interested in writing reviews, I’m open to the idea, if you’re an excellent writer. Here are the guidelines:

– If you’re interested in writing for us, send me an email at feedtheblog@gmail.com with a few writing samples and a resume if you have one. I’d also like to know five of your favorite releases of 2010, and five new releases you’re excited about in 2011. It would be great if you could make reference to specific artists or subjects that we’ve written about on the site, so I know that you’re familiar with our writing and our tastes/interests.

– If I like you and your writing, and we seem to be compatible taste-wise, then we can move forward in one of two ways. There are a lot of things that I know I’m interested in writing about that I don’t find time for, so if you’d like, I’d definitely be able to give post assignments to cover a given track, video, or album. Alternately, you could select your own topics and submit them to me. Know that in either case, I’ll be reviewing your writing before giving you permission to actually publish it. I won’t alter anything you’ve written without your permission, and assuming I don’t have any issues, I’ll try to publish anything you send us right away. And of course, anything you write will be credited to you. I’m also down to add your information to our About Me section, and I’m open to linking to your info (like Twitter or something) elsewhere on the site.

– Know that I’m not going to post anything on this site that I have a considerable disagreement with. If you think something’s a 70, and I think it’s a 75, I’m not gonna come down on you — you took the time to review the album, and I didn’t have the time, so I’m thankful. But, say, if you wanted to slam the new Babies record or nominate King of Limbs for album of the year, I’m going to have a problem with it. Track/video reviews should be far less contentious – generally a “this is cool, check this out!” type description should suffice.

I’m not necessarily expecting any responses, since it’s pretty difficult to convince people to write for no money and very little glory – but if you’re someone like me, who’s trying to make a name for yourself as a music writer/blogger and want an easily accessible/aesthetically pleasing reference point to share with potential employers, etc, this could be a great opportunity, and I can tell you it’s not easy going it alone. Let me boost your legitimacy, while you ease some weight off my shoulders. I will be accepting applications constantly. If you’re reading this a year after I posted it, I’m probably still interested. Send me your stuff!

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

